There are a couple of circumstances where you can legally buy a fishing license from someone else, but it must meet certain criteria.
You can buy a fishing license for someone else:
- If you are buying a license for a non-resident.
- If you are buying a license for a child or for your spouse.
Under all other circumstances, it is unlikely you will be able to buy a fishing license for someone else simply because they will be expected to present their government or state-issued ID during the process.
However, if you’re buying a fishing license online and you have access to someone else’s details, for example, Drivers License, DOB, Full Name, Address, and Physical Description, then you can complete the transaction without the other person being present.
Table of Contents
How Can I Buy A Fishing License?
One of the most convenient ways is by heading to your local Walmart and speaking with a member of staff within the sporting goods section.
Just remember to take your ID with you. In most cases, a driver’s license will be more than enough.
If you would prefer, most states will allow you to buy a fishing license online, you just need to consider delivery times, which can be as much as 15 days.
What If I Want To Pay For Someone Else’s Fishing License?
If you would like to pay for someone else’s fishing license and they physically cannot go with you and if you do not have access to their personal details, then you might want to consider a gift card.
Most vendors that sell fishing licenses will also be able to provide a gift certificate made out to the same amount as the cost of a fishing license, which makes it a great alternative.
What States Will Allow You to Buy A Fishing License for Someone Else
If you can meet the criteria above, then the following states will allow you to buy a fishing license for someone else:
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
How Much Will The Fishing License Cost?
Each state has their own pricing but on average you can expect to pay the following:
- For individual residents between age 16 to 65 – $19.
- For individual residents between age 66 and above- $10
- A one-day fishing license for both resident and non-resident – $11
- Non-resident fishing license for a year- $40
- Three-day tourist fishing license – $19
- In case the issuer of the license loses the license due to destruction, stealth or losing can get a duplicate license issued – $4.
What Types of Fishing Licenses Are Available
The following licenses are available in most states:
- A 24 hours fishing permit
- A 5-day fishing permit
- An annual fishing permit
In some states, it is provided in the law that some people who suffer from some of the other types of disability can fish in the country’s waters and children falling under the age of 16 can also fish provided they are accompanied by a parent or a guardian. The safety of the fisher is also of prime importance.
There are more than a few options when it comes to buying a fishing license for someone else. It is especially easy if the other person is a close family member.
But even if they aren’t, a gift certificate is a great option if you’re looking for a gift for a keen angler.